Monday, February 4, 2008

Mondays are usually not notable

This week is looking to once again be crazy, but this time actually because of school. I have to study, which has been unheard of thus far in the term. I have two midterms tomorrow, a paper due Wednesday, plus two projects, a paper, and a midterm next week. Add to that my running schedule, RA/FA interviews this weekend, and the Valentine's day banquet and my cortisol levels are getting up there, or at least to normal college kid proportions. I haven't stressed enough in college I think, and that's why I get these crazy kid ideas about marathon running or being an RA and an FA at the same time...Fact: cortisol keeps you sane.

I'm going to be missing another vital substance here pretty soon: caffeine. I am giving up drinking coffee for lent, except, as Jess says, for "social drinking." This is going to be my sacrifice to God from Wednesday until Easter. Forty days and forty long nights. Oh well, at least its not cheese or music, which is what Shantelle and Jenell are giving up. In comparison I don't seem to be sacrificing all that much. Plus I haven't been drinking that much lately, it will save me money, and I can still have tea. But I like coffee. The perfect lent sacrifice.

In other news, I'm pretty stoked about super Tuesday. How sad is it that I'm trying really hard to get my homework done so I can watch CNN coverage of the primaries which I'm not even voting in....I'd say pretty sad. It's going to be hard though because of the way my Tuesday schedule is, plus I have an evening exam and a Wednesday deadline paper, but I'm sure I'll watch a good chunk of it, or at least update Reuters constantly.

Also a weekend highlight: Saturday night boy's poker night. I was the only girl haha. We started the Texas Hold 'Em tournament around 11 ish and I got out a little before 2 and went to bed. Much fun was had, but no food because we were all out of points and common grounds was packed after midnight all the way up to 2am. At some point we shared half a can of pringles...

Oh yeah, so the Super Bowl was freakin' awesome, man! We (NCM + our friends) had this awesome house to ourselves with a huge HD TV and lots and lots of food. Plus, most everyone was rooting for the Giants, so there was much celebrating. Also, the 6th annual Mud Bowl took place directly before the real game, and it was awesome. I caught a touchdown pass actually, totally by surprise, but there was a flag on the field because Tony ran into me and I guess I dropped it? I also sort of learned how to mud slide, softball style, although Shantelle is definitely the master at it. After the real party, we sort of transplanted over to Ryan's, rehearsed the V-day banquet skit, and eventually played a sweet game of Settler's which I actually managed to get 8 points in this time! Yay me!

Oh yeah, also on Sunday a new girl named Megan came to Harvest. She's just moved from SoCal and she thought she'd visit the church across the street and so Ryan introduced her to me and Caleb and Jacob. Well, she ended up hangin' out with us the entire day which was totally cool! Yay for awesome new people! Once you start hanging out with the NCMers, its pretty addicting, I can testify to that lol.

Okay so I've got to go start studying soon. Theoretically if I don't mess around too much tonight I'll have time for Bible study at 7 and watching the boys play basketball tonight at 10 before coming home and studying some more. Ready....break!

No comments: