Wednesday, February 20, 2008

Obama Won!

Wouldn't it be weird if Obama is the antichrist?

I'm just gonna leave that for now, or else I'm gonna freak myself out.

Okay so it started when Linda Brady was talking about the implications of the next election for middle east peace and she said Obama was the most likely to figure out a lasting peace treaty, which is something only the antichrist is supposed to be able to do...don't listen to me.

Anyway, there are more important things at hand! Like... My birthday is in 1 week! To celebrate, I am going to take a scary 260 exam, go to Bible study, and then go to Lily's house for dinner. Then on Friday I'm going to Bellingham, WA to visit my dear friend Marcy and maybe go skiing! Mommy and Daddy bought me the plane tickets for my birthday, an excellent gift for an 18-year-old.

To make it even better, the next weekend I get to go actually see them, in Los Angeles, and also see my sister and the amazing musical Wicked! This was not really a Christmas or birthday present but more of a family trip. Then on Monday

wow. I'm back. I just got a funny email from Marcy that made me titter a bit and was also distracting. Anyway, after the LA trip my family is coming to visit me here at U of O, followed by Fred also visiting, later that week.

This weekend will also be amazing. I am going with all the InterVarsity kids and we are attending Jesus The Revolution conference at a really nice hotel in the awesome city of Portland.
I am excited. I have not left the dorms for a weekend yet this term, and now I get 3 in a row!

Lent Update: I really miss coffee. Plus, the conference is coming up and to me, "conference" and "coffee" are very closely related words. Who knew this would be so hard? Every time I go to a coffee shop and order tea, the person right in front of me gets something delicious, like coffee, and then the barrista asks me if they can get a drink started for me and then I say "I'd like a tea please" and I feel like a hippie loser. I am finding that I sort of like tea now, but I'm getting picky about my tea, like I am about coffee. I prefer the Republic of Tea black tea, but there are only two places on campus and the bookstore that have it. Most other places have that Starbucks brand tea which is, at best, substandard, like all things at Starbucks. I also like African red tea but I don't actually have any and the only places that do are Starbucks and the bookstore, which are way over there on the other side of campus. I am going over there today though, so I have something to look forward to. I generally try to avoid both the bookstore and starbucks because , A) they are crowded and I don't like crowds, and B) I always buy something there. At Starbucks I always buy a muffin or coffee cake and at the bookstore...well that's just dangerous.

So right now I'm actually skipping my Wednesday 5-mile run. Allow me to explain. I ran 10.2 miles on Sunday and the next day I felt fine, my shoulders were a little sore, but that was it. Then yesterday I ran four miles and was in agony. I am at a loss. I was in pain last week in my shins and so I switched all my routes to chipsod trails and I've been stretching better, but for some reason my legs got very angry with me. So my 5 and 4 mile runs this week are going to be replaced by lower impact cardio workouts at the gym. I only need to do those two of the three days left in the week, and so I chose today to skip out, but I got up early anyway and now I'm kind of bored. What's that you say? I should do school work? You might have a point.

No comments: