Where have the first two months of '08 gone? An entire sixth of the year, poof! I would argue that a lot has happened, however. I have worked my way up from barely being able to run 3 miles to running 11.2 last Monday. I have gone skiing and hiking. I applied for my major, a scholarship, and the RA and FA jobs. I've played mud football. I've gone to dance parties and dinners with friends and watched the Giants win the Superbowl. I went to Portland to the amazing Jesus the Revolution Conference, I turned 18, and I went to Bellingham to chill with mEgger!
This weekend with Marcy was totally awesome. Right away after I got to Bellingham we went out for delicious yummy burgers and also ice cream with Marcy's roommate Katherine and her friend Cynthia and stayed up late watching the Office and then talking for hours.
Saturday we (sort of) slept in, ate brunch and then hit the town by bus (which worked out great because I got Karelia's bus pass- she left WWU at break). We went all over the place and saw the sights, plus went shopping at the mall where Marcy discovered my dress for Wicked next weekend and I introduced her to bubble tea. Eventually we ended up at the hippie food co-op and met up with four of Marcy's friends and then we all went out for truly delicious Thai food at a really great little restaurant. Great times indeed.
We slept and followed the same sleep-in-brunch routine this morning but just hung out around campus. We went up to this neat little look out place where there was a pretty sweet view of the town and also the bay. Also, a cool little cave/tunnel. Then we went and got drinks and hung out and just talked for a while and eventually called fred and talked to her. Then I pretty much had to leave.
I didn't get a tattoo just because it didn't really work out with what everybody else was doing and Marcy didn't really want to get one. I figure I'll go with Lindsay some time.
So now I'm gearing up for another very late night. A few hours ago U of O InterVarsity kicked off our four day 24 hour prayer marathon and I have the midnight shift. By an amazing act of God we got a room on campus, which is very neat.
However, I still am not excited about walking back at 1 am. And then staying up for a few more hours working on the devotions for Collegiate that are due at some point tomorrow. I also have a couple applications for things due ASAP and a part of a research paper due tuesday morning early. This shall be a week with very little sleep and less running.
I say less running because my marathon training is going on a diet. By that I mean I am in a lot more pain than I think is healthy recently and I have a lot going on both this week, this weekend, and the next week what with lots of people visiting. My plan is to work really hard on schoolwork, get sort of a decent amount of sleep, and try to fit in running, or at least cardio workouts.
I'm re-prioritizing. Of course, first priority is prayer room duty, then school/other school-like things, then sleep, then running, then hanging out with people/watching CNN/blogging. Starting at midnight tonight, clearly. So I may drop off the face of the earth this week, or at least until Friday.
Summer update: It would be the coolest thing ever if Heather and I go work at Tanalian Bible Camp together for two weeks in July. This randomly came to me while I was talking to her on the phone earlier tonight. I am so excited. I plan to email James either tonight or tomorrow and tell him, among other things, of this plan. I think Heather would really like it there. The training and the experience that the LMBC team has is pretty daunting I think, and its totally understandable that Heather wasn't really interested in doing it that way, but I think she would really get a lot out of camp, plus it would be a great experience for her, plus it would make me feel better about not being able to see her hardly at all before I go to Africa and miss her birthday. I like spending time with my sister, so its gonna be great.
My phone alarm just told me that its just about time to go pray my heart out. I'm so excited. I am less excited about coming back and having to go push on for a couple more hours. Maybe I'll just come back and go to sleep. Hmmm. I've all but decided not to run at all tomorrow anyway....I'll play it by ear at this point. Even though Marcy and I didn't get up early, we still didn't get much sleep and it was rather uncomfortable sharing her bunk, plus I went into the weekend already exhausted...but on the other hand I have 15 college devotions to research and write and an application to finish and a bunch of people to email. It will have to wait. I am sleepy and achy. Goodnight
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment